The Irresistable Henry House

“Taking care of a baby is the only most important job most of you will ever have.”

“Martha saw herself in the mirror at the top of the stairs and readjusted her scarf, forcing the memory out of her mind. Once a day, she allowed herself to think abut that only once a day.”

Wow. I loved reading this book. I loved the characters. I loved the plot. I loved the writing. Amazing.

This book really surprised me, it wasn’t anything like what I thought it would be. As much as you shouldn’t judge a book by the cover, I guess you also shouldn’t make too many assumptions about the plot. The “irresistible” eye of the middle aged man on the front cover led me to believe the book would be all about the charming, flirtatious Mr.House who sexed his way through 300 pages expressing his inability to pick a mate after being raised by multiple women. And it was…but it was so much more.

“‘If anything happened to you-,’she kept saying, but then she never finished the sentence,leaving Henry with the not – unfamiliar impression that his well being was somehow crucial to the progress of the world.”

The plot is fairly simple, and shockingly based on real life occurrences. Henry is raised as a house baby at Wilton College. The program director, Martha Gaines, decides that she will adopt Henry. After a fairly shocking plot twist, it is decided that Martha should raise Henry. Henry grows up surrounded by women and continually separating himself from Martha. The ultimate break with Martha occurs when Henry finds out that Martha has lied to him about where his real parents are. Henry is then sent to a boarding school after choosing to become mute. While there he develops his talents for art as well as for captivating the opposite sex.

I was pleasantly surprised that such a large chunk of the book was about Hnery as a child or during his adolescence.

I love that the author was able to make Henry a sympathetic character while also making him at times, a man about town. There are some awesomely, stinging one liners from Henry, which I really enjoyed. I was a little thrown off ultimately by how deeply Henry distrusts and dislikes Martha. But then who am I to judge, I can’t even imagine how I’d deal with finding out the truth about a lifelong lie like he did.

I know I loved a book because I’ll have tons of quotes from the book that I enjoyed. That is one of the reasons why I enjoy having a blog, I can type a lot faster and less painlessly than I can write. Here is another favorite.

“Come on, doofus. Who would like the arrangement?”
” What if I love her?”
” Bullshit, Henry.”
“What do you mean, bullshit?”
” I mean bullshit. You don’t love her.”
“How do you know?”
” You love you. And barely,” she said.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Irresistable Henry House

  1. HENRY HOUSE is on my wishlist — yes, when a work of fiction leads me to learn about a piece of true history, it’s a bonus. “Practice babies” – wow!

    And I’m laughing at your “I can type a lot faster and less painlessly than I can write” confession/observation. Fun to finish a book and have lots of passages marked.

Leave a Reply

